Penny’s Blog

Enough with the positive thinking. Back to complaining.

Posted on: March 23, 2009

I can’t stand it, y’all: I just have to tell you all about my mucositis.  This is a common side effect for people getting some types of chemotherapy or, as in my case, radiation therapy to the head and neck.

[Okay, I wrote a lengthy post about this on Sunday night, giving details about symptoms and pain and the like.  On reflection, I think it was neither particularly enlightening nor entertaining.  It just sounded like griping.  So I’ve snipped that stuff.  Here’s a summary, instead:]

To quote Wikipedia:

Mucositis is the painful inflammation and ulceration of the mucous membranes lining the digestive tract, usually as an adverse effect of chemotherapy and radiotherapy treatment for cancer.

My mucositis is in my mouth. It hurts. It makes eating, talking, tooth-brushing, spitting, and other mouth-related activities painful and difficult.  It’ll probably get worse over the next several days; after my last radiation treatment it should heal in 2-4 weeks.

Bleah, and ouch.

1 Response to "Enough with the positive thinking. Back to complaining."

When they say it’ll hurt like a pizza burn, they don’t tell you that it’s an XXL with extra cheese and napalm. Poor, poor Penny, I guess this is just another situation where you just have to wait for the healing to progress. I’m glad you got some pain meds, and trust that you will take them — in a milkshake if necessary.

Love and back pats,
Alyson

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • dswope: I just happened by after my I received an email from a close colegue that he was headig for IVPalooza. All I knew was that it was a form of chemo.
  • Brian: Hi Penny; When I was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma I found your site. Reading about what you went through was incredibly helpful to me. Tha
  • Tricia: Still here; still caring; still rooting you on!

Categories

