Penny’s Blog

Keep on jigglin’

Posted on: March 19, 2009

For a change of pace, I thought I’d write a post that doesn’t involve any complaining. 

I’ve joined up with a group at UNC called Sole Sisters. Judy Swasey, a nurse and avid runner, wanted to help women (re)discover the pleasures of exercise, and so started the program 8-9 years ago. Each March 100 women begin a 3-month training program, working up to the Komen NC Triangle Race for the Cure in June.  The goal for every participant is to finish that race, whether that’s by running, walking, or hobbling.sslogo_small

This is a great group!  Women of all ages, races, shapes and sizes gather once a week to talk, laugh, and walk/run. Some women are new to the program this year; others sign up every year. Some women are cancer survivors; some aren’t.

For me, it’s a non-scary way to ease into physical activity again after several months of languishing.  A few weeks ago I bought a new pair of running shoes for the first time in—what, 10?—years.  This week I ventured out in public in workout clothes for the first time in years. I’m still carrying the bad gym-class memories of always being the slowest and fattest member of the group, so I can’t tell you how refreshing it is that (a) I’m neither the slowest nor fattest member of this particular group, and (b) even if I were, no one would care, because everyone’s so delightfully supportive.

Besides finishing the race in June, my personal goal is simply to attend practice every week from here on, and not wimp out.  (Long term, maybe I’ll get fit enough to resume working on the goal I had to defer last fall: to go car-free.  The bike’s waiting in the shed…)

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • dswope: I just happened by after my I received an email from a close colegue that he was headig for IVPalooza. All I knew was that it was a form of chemo.
  • Brian: Hi Penny; When I was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma I found your site. Reading about what you went through was incredibly helpful to me. Tha
  • Tricia: Still here; still caring; still rooting you on!

Categories

