Penny’s Blog

Today’s medical stuff

Posted on: February 26, 2009

Two visits to Gravely Building* today: a follow-up with the oncologist this morning, and the radiology simulation this afternoon.

(*Pronounced GRAV-lee; it’s where the UNC cancer clinics are located until the new cancer hospital opens this August.  In the 1950s, Gravely was a TB sanitarium; in the 1970s-80s it housed the department of family medicine—where I had my first UNC job.)

Dr. Van Deventer, my oncologist, says everything looks fine. My blood counts are normal. He reminded me about the 9-month recovery time, but said I might bounce back a little more quickly than that, since I’ve didn’t become completely inactive these last 4-5 months.  (He said it was “remarkable and commendable” that I’ve continued to work, even part of the time, during treatment.)

We discussed follow-up visits and scans.  I have an appointment to get my port removed week after next.

By the way, based on today’s numbers, it looks like the switch to a plant-based diet is paying off:  I’ve lost about 10 pounds in the last month, and my blood pressure today was down 10-15 points (both systolic and diastolic) from last visit.

The Radiology visit was rather wearing…  I’ll write about that later. (If you want a flavor of what today’s visit was about, go to Google and do an image search on “radiation mask.”)

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • dswope: I just happened by after my I received an email from a close colegue that he was headig for IVPalooza. All I knew was that it was a form of chemo.
  • Brian: Hi Penny; When I was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma I found your site. Reading about what you went through was incredibly helpful to me. Tha
  • Tricia: Still here; still caring; still rooting you on!

Categories

