Penny’s Blog

Rebecca

Posted on: January 13, 2009

I’ll get back to the mundane posts later, but I want to take a moment to mention my friend Rebecca.

Rebecca was diagnosed a year ago with colon and liver cancer. Since then, she’s endured a host of debilitating symptoms, and many trips to the hospital.

Whenever I post here to kvetch about hair loss, fatigue, or runny nose, I’m also thinking about Rebecca and what she’s had to deal with. Her experience helps me keep mine in perspective.

A couple of times lately people have told me I’m courageous, and it’s made me a little uncomfortable. For one thing, I don’t want that kind of pressure—I want permission to be self-pitying and angry. For another, I don’t know that “courage” accurately describes dealing with cancer: You simply do what you have to do, day by day.

So I won’t call Rebecca courageous, either. But I will say I admire and respect her—not for how she’s played the crummy hand she’s been dealt lately, but for how she’s led her life all along.

Rebecca, I wish we could have become crotchety old ladies together. I hope we’ll get some more time together, and I’ll sure miss you when you go.

Update 11/14:  We just got news that Rebecca died last night.  Her illness was lengthy, but the end was unexpectedly quick.  Her loving family was there with her.

1 Response to "Rebecca"

I’m so sorry for your loss and the gap your friend Rebecca has undoubtedly left behind. In the words of Clarence from It’s A Wonderful Life, “Each man’s life touches so many other lives. When he isn’t around he leaves an awful hole, doesn’t he?” Treasure those memories of the life she led; revel in the fact that you were able to share time with her, brief as it was; cry and feel sorry for yourself that she is no longer here. That’s what love is all about.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • dswope: I just happened by after my I received an email from a close colegue that he was headig for IVPalooza. All I knew was that it was a form of chemo.
  • Brian: Hi Penny; When I was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma I found your site. Reading about what you went through was incredibly helpful to me. Tha
  • Tricia: Still here; still caring; still rooting you on!

Categories

