Penny’s Blog

In Praise of Perler Beads

Posted on: October 24, 2008

The Unhappy Bears series

The Unhappy Bears series

When Kirby was cleaning her room at Sol’s in preparation for heading off to college, she unearthed a 10-year-old supply of fuse beads and bead boards. There are plastic pegboards in a variety of shapes; you put the colored beads on the pegs; and an adult puts non-stick paper over the beads and fuses them together with a hot iron.

Fig. 1

Fig. 1

Squarez

Squarez

If you’ve never tried this craft, I recommend it. It’s fairly mindless, it’s good for your manual dexterity, the limits of colors and peg arrangements are challenging, and there’s an element of risk to it—if your hand shakes or the cat head-butts you, the beads go flying off and you have to start over.

The Star of David series

The Star of David series

Anyway, the reason I bring this up is that during the period between the surgery to take a bone sample (“There is something obviously wrong”) and the diagnosis (“Lymphoma. We’re referring you to the Cancer Center”), I used up almost all the beads making little designs.

Heartz

Heartz

It helped keep me sane. Here’s a gallery of some of my creations.

Circlez

Circlez

2 Responses to "In Praise of Perler Beads"

Ooh, we had these too. I really like the blue and black circle one. That symbol reminds me of something, but I can’t remember what. And the bears are wonderful. I’m so impressed by your attitude.

Penny,
This is incredible. To read your journey through this process and open it to us all is so powerful. I am so glad I ran into you at Weaver Street. YOur colorful creations of perler beads will help you heal. They are fabulous.
I send you love and light as you step into this process.
Much appreciation for sharing this.
Love, Kate

Leave a comment


  • None
  • dswope: I just happened by after my I received an email from a close colegue that he was headig for IVPalooza. All I knew was that it was a form of chemo.
  • Brian: Hi Penny; When I was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma I found your site. Reading about what you went through was incredibly helpful to me. Tha
  • Tricia: Still here; still caring; still rooting you on!

Categories